A STORY THAT I DID NOT PUT IN THE BOOK

We had driven halfway through Germany from the very top of the country, heading to Munich after leaving Norway the night before. We only stopped for gas, a quick lunch, and traveled at speeds exceeding 100MPH. German Autobahn had no speed limit, so we were definitely making good time. First, we put gas in the Mustang then one of us stayed in the car while the other went to the restroom and freshened up. It was my turn to go first, and I headed back to the RED Mustang, which stood out as the only American sports car around.

Maurice went next, and a  1/2 hour passed, then 3/4 of an hour, and when it hit one hour, I was just about to go looking for him (even though we promised each other we would never leave the car alone unless we could see it.)

  When he returned, he had that grin on his face, which meant he was happy and in a good mood. He said excitedly to me, “Look what I bought for $50, a Rolex worth a lot more.”

While at the same time, he shoved it in my hand and said, “here it’s yours. I bought it from this adorable Iranian kid who was all alone, so I asked why he was not in school, and he responded, I must help support my family.” 

Even I knew it was not real as I quickly noticed it read Rolix and not Rolex. But I never said a word, and off we drove.

The moral of the story is, my good friend did not want me to know what a big heart he had- he felt terrible for this Iranian kid and did not want to give him charity, so he bought the watch (and if I know him for $100, not $50). Not another word was ever said about the watch, and I know for sure at our next stop, he gave it away because I never saw it again.

Written by Gary Orleck

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started